XFL names Houston among eight cities for league’s 2020 return

The city of Houston, Texas will be amongst the first eight locations to receive football teams for the return of the XFL. The league, which was originally around for just a season back in 2001, is making a comeback attempt in 2020.

According to a report via Patch, the XFL held their press conference on Wednesday morning from New York with Commissioner and CEO Oliver Lucky presiding over the announcement of team locations. Luck used to play with the Houston Oilers and was also a CEO for Houston Sports Authority.

In addition to Houston, there are other major sports areas which will receive teams. They’ll include Dallas, Los Angeles, New York, Seattle, St. Louis, Tampa Bay, and Washington DC. Interestingly, almost all of the locations named also have an NFL team in the area too. Only St. Louis lacks a current NFL team as their previous team, the Rams, moved to Los Angeles as of 2015.

Houston currently has the Texans, a team enjoying success this NFL season and looking towards a playoff berth. The unnamed XFL team will reportedly play at the University of Houston’s TDECU stadium, and their season will begin the weekend after the Super Bowl in 2020. That means there shouldn’t be any competition with Texans games, allowing fans to check out the XFL team after the NFL season and postseason has concluded.

The 2020 XFL schedule will consist of just eight games for the inaugural season. There will also be a short playoff consisting of two semifinals games, and then a Championship game involving the two winning teams. So far, there are no team names, logos, players, or other personnel assigned to teams. Those are expected to arrive in the first quarter of 2019.

Houston Sports Authority Harris County CEO Janis Burke called the XFL coming to Houston, “an exciting and relatively affordable brand of football.” Burke called the experience “perfect for families, students” and other football fans to enjoy.